More Ottawa

An exhausting day with a meeting that went from 9am-6:45pm. They brought lunch in. But I went out for dinner and a beer afterwards with former classmates and now colleagues from Ontario and Alberta. It felt invigorating; it reminded me of what I love about being an archivist; it reminded me that I am not alone.

I met these two in September of 1996 as part of the incoming class of UBC’s archival studies program. I hated it. I wondered why the hell I moved 4500km to get into this profession. I remember talking to Anne in a hallway and thinking she was okay. Raymond seemed smart and, hell, I seem to recall an MA thesis related to labour unions in BC. I would be okay. I promised to try.

I cannot believe I have known them for 15 years! I did graduate with my MA in 1998 and holy cow….I still work as an archivist. These two are – for sure – part of the reason why I keep coming back to Ottawa for these meetings.
Of all national assets, archives are the most precious: they are the gift of one generation to another, and the extent of our care of them marks the extent of our civilization.
 
Arthur Doughty, Dominion Archivist 1904-1935.
Leave a Reply

