WH4

6:52 sunrise

21:11 sunset
So last night kicked off the first Whitehorse Hash House Harriers (W4) run of the season. I enjoyed it more than I thought it would. I ran slowly (and at the back of a small pack) and the ~5km felt okay. My hip flexors are a little bit tender this morning, but not much. I should probably learn to do something about that if I plan to run at all this summer.

There’s still snow on the ground 😦 [and ice on the river] but it *is* melting.

And beer after a run always tastes good. Even if I have to endure what K. referred to last night as “the cult part” of hashing. It’s really not that bad and of course the archivist in me loves the idea that these rituals are common no matter where you run.

The days are plenty long now and summer will be here before I know it. I’m still sort of kicking around for an event or a fitness goal this summer. The Soggy Bottom 100 in Alaska and Whitehorse’s own trail marathon are both on my radar but I haven’t made any commitments yet. Crap thing is that both of those events are on the same weekend. So for now, I’ll just wait and see.

Leave a Reply

