A couple of sporty notes

5:05 sunrise

23:08 sunset
Went on a hash run again last night. Thankfully, it was only 6km and flat because it was just the boys (who actually run) and me (the girl who lollygags). I wish I had carried my camera on the run as I usually do because our beer check was overlooking the Takhini river in the most gorgeous spot. You’ll just have to imagine it.


And in other sporty news, I finally signed up for the Soggy Bottom 100 last week. It’s a 100 mile mountain bike race in the Chugah National Forest of Alaska. Check out where the race starts, in Hope. I think it’s going to be a crazy beautiful ride. Way back in April I toyed with the idea of riding all 100 miles of the race solo but I look back at that idea now and laugh. Not a chance in hell I would (could?) complete 100 miles on a mountain bike. However, I have convinced two other awesome Whitehorse women to join me on the trek and we have put in an entry as a relay team. I think I will be riding the last leg, so probably partially in the dark. I’m still kind of nervous about 35-40 miles but it’s an achievable goal and I am hoping that we get beautiful weather and interesting terrain. I’m also hoping for Alaskan beer and a glimpse into what Anchorage is like. I’m sad that neither Tony (who told me about this race in the first place) nor my bike-wife Sierra will be making the journey with me, but there’s always next year.

Leave a Reply

