Building Trail

7:21 sunrise
20:31 sunset

Until last night, I had never worked on building or maintaining a mountain bike trail.  I dunno how that happened but it just did.  But I do think that since I use the trails so much, it only makes sense to spend some time, when I can, trying to build them.  So when Tony and Alex set up a night to take a group out to the still-under-development Starbuck’s Revenge, I was in.

It was a gorgeous night – warm, sunny, and the colours on Mt Mac were spectacular.

The hike in was a couple of kilometres.  The trail’s namesake, Starbuck the dog, is out in front.
Do you have any idea how effective loppers are?!  I didn’t have a clue.  In fact, I didn’t even know these were called loppers.  Now I know.  You can wreck havoc on overgrown willows with these things!
I don’t think that we managed to clear any more than a few hundred metres since the sun is now setting so much earlier and it took us awhile to get to the actual trail, but I’m hoping that it was worth the effort.  I don’t know if the whole thing will be finished before the snow flies, but if it is, I am going to try my best to get one ride in.
Leave a Reply

