Dressing for the weather

9:53 sunrise

16:27 sunset

It’s been a fairly mild winter so far but that came to an end this weekend.  Yesterday’s high was -31C and today’s is set to be -36C.  When I left for work this morning it was -40: the temperature at which both Americans and Canadians can agree – it’s cold.

When I woke up on Sunday morning, I knew it was cold before I crawled out of bed.  I don’t think the furnace turned off once all night and the light peeking through my bedroom blinds had a certain edge to it that is hard to describe.  When I did finally get up, this is what the world looked like:

Beautiful, yes, but all that condensation in the air tells me that furnaces and wood stoves in my neighbourhood were running full tilt.

I am not as nutty as my bike-wife who went out on Sunday.  You can read what it’s like to ride a bicycle at -40 on her blog.  I instead chose to sit inside by the fire with the Mr and my in-laws.  But this morning I had to return to work and venture outside for more than five minutes.

I contemplated my -40 work attire carefully.  I usually like to try and look halfway decent while at my place of employment and in cold weather that often means a dress.  It’s amazing just how much clothing one can layer underneath this practical women’s garment.

I begin with tights, long underwear, and knee-high wool socks on the bottom.

            
Then it’s a tank top, a long-sleeved wool shirt and a sweater dress on top:

  


And finally, winter dress boots and a chunky wool cardigan sweater as the last of the inside layers.

                                 

                                           






Ta-dah!

Top it off with a long down jacket and a second-hand fur hat (yes, I am conflicted about fur but damn it is warm) and you too would survive outside on a Yukon winter’s day.
6 comments

  1. I'm happy we don't have as cold as u! Still we have had -30°C, even -40°C one winter! This winter has so far been really warm and coldest so far is -19°C!! Last winter we had -20°C or colder for weeks! Today it's around -5°C and kind of icerain. No fun! Have a nice day!

    Like

  2. you're much braver than I. This morning, to combat teh -30, I wore longjohns, wool socks, tank top, wool sweater, jeans, fuzzy-lined winter boots, down jacket, scarf, toque, hood and gloves. fashion is a low priority for me when it's cold out 😛

    Like

  3. I actually find this combo warmer than a lot of others. And I hate wearing long undies under my jeans. Feel like a stuffed sausage. Stay warm down there – looks like this spell of winter is around for a bit!

    Like

  4. It was down to around -36 here this morning with -43 for a windchill. I spent lots of time yesterday telling myself that we've definitely been spoiled so far this winter and these temperatures are really how its supposed to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

