Comin’ back from Cali, from Cali, from Cali

5:05 sunrise
22:49 sunset

So, I’m back from California.  That means I’m 40, which somehow seems okay to me now. It also means that it should be nice here in Whitehorse by now but this is not the case.  4C as I type and it was below zero this morning when I went up to the location for our 24 Hours of Light mountain bike festival that will be happening in a mere month. I know I complain about the weather all the time but come ooooonnnnnn.

Anyhow, I wrote about our riding in California here, a bike blog that I may contribute to on a more regular basis.  Suffice to say that it was great fun being on vacation with my friends and I only wish we hadn’t done so much driving.  The RV we rented was hilarious but there is only so much chattering up and down highway 101 that anyone can take before starting to go bonkers.

Parking the RV at our campsite at New Brighton Beach

After six days of riding we settled into a weekend in San Francisco, which was awesome.  We rented this spiff pad in the Noe Valley/Castro area and then proceeded to eat our way around the city.  I only wish there had been more time!

This is at Kronnerburger where the tag line is: “Rare Salty.”  It was both.

Neat-o dessert at The Slanted Door: lychee cotton candy

Birthday menu at NOPA. I had the tagine and the baked cauliflower plus bits and pieces of everyone else’s meal

I also saw two really excellent exhibitions at SFMOMA (Garry Winogrand and Lebbeus Woods) and spent some quality time digging through the racks at a Thrift Town and a Ross store.  I was pretty restrained when it came to actually buying stuff.  Most of my money went into good food and drink, which I think is the way to go.  I did, however, splurge on this disco hoodie for my birthday.  But come on how could anyone resist?!  It’s made from disconium!

So, the big birthday trip is over and now it’s down to summer Yukon business.  As I have mentioned, year in and year out on this blog, summer is manic season and things are about to get crazy.  Last week alone our mountain bike club had an intro to mountain biking course on Monday, a group ride and twoonie race on Tuesday (I went to yoga), the Ride of Silence on Wednesday, a women’s group ride on Thursday and I think on Friday I actually rested.  Summer’s like that up here.  Now all we need is a bit of warm weather to accompany it all.

Tomorrow: will I be brave and go suffer through a Mt Mac Twoonie Race as per my fit for 40 goal #12?  Pfftttt, I am not feeling enthused.  We’ll see.

2 comments

  1. Again, sounds like a great time. Makes me wish I had more friends that like, did stuff. That disco hoodie looks pretty rad. Also I'm curious about your fun portraits over on flickr but will wait patiently for you to blog about them.

    Like

  2. I did have a great time… just makes being back in the real world that much more difficult, tho'.

    As for my self-portrait thingy-ma-bob, they are being posted on flickr but most of them I haven't made public just because, well, I'm not really sure where I am going with the whole thing yet and I'm feeling self-conscious about it. I wrote a bit of an “intro” to it in the set description but…. still feeling sort of confused as to what my purpose is (or whether I will continue with it for the whole year).

    Like

Leave a Reply

