A holiday in the desert

Have you ever done something that makes you feel simultaneously like an adult and yet awfully childish?  I did this week.  I booked myself a solo trip to Palm Springs. I leave on Monday. The mature/immature tension exists because I feel awfully privileged and grown up to be able to do what I want, when I want, with money I earned and yet spending money and time on an unnecessary vacation just because I wanted to, without thinking it through, feels impulsive and self-indulgent, like children can be.

palm springs

Vintage postcard used on the cover of Peter Moruzzi’s book about Palm Springs

At any rate, I am stoked about this.  I have done very little travelling on my own, so I am excited and a little bit nervous about that.  I’m also really looking forward to being warm, nay, hot for a few days.  My plans are to look at mid-century architecture, go to the Art Museum, find some thrift shops, drink cocktails and ride a bike through Joshua Tree National Park.  Can’t wait!

2 comments

  1. Good for you. You honestly deserve it. Have a great time. I have on occasion also indulged myself and it feels great Love mom xxooxx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

